Sri Lanka Cricket Team On the Pitch

Sri Lanka cricket team is a full member of the International Cricket Council (ICC), including Test, One-Day Internationals (ODIs), and T20 Internationals (T20Is). Sri Lankan squad was awarded the Test status in 1982 that made them to be the 8th test cricket playing nation and the team is administered by the Sri Lanka Cricket Association.

The tea, has got major successes in the past two decades which is underrated by the batting of Aravinda de Silva, Sanath Jayasuria, Mahela Jayawardene, Kumar Sangakkara, Marvan Atapattu, and Tillakaratne Dilshan, with a support of the bowling of Muttiah Muralitharan, Chaminda Vaas, Lasith Malinga, Rangana Herath, Nuwan Kulasekara, and many other talented cricketers.

According to the Sri Lanka cricket news, Sri Lanka has won the Cricket World Cup in 1996, the ICC Champions Trophy in 2002 (co-champions with India), and the ICC T20 World Cup in 2014. They end their play as the runners-up of the 2007 and 2011 Cricket World Cups consecutively, and of the ICC T20 World Cup in 2009 and 2012. Currently, the Sri Lankan cricket team holds multiple world records that includes that for the highest team total in Test cricket matches.

Sri Lanka Team at ICC World Cups

In the five World Cup tournaments in the year 1975 to 1992, Sri Lanka couldn’t enter even the group stage but in 1996, starting off as underdogs under the leadership of Arjuna Ranatunga, the side kept winning the Cricket World Cup, being hosted by India, Pakistan, and Sri Lanka. Since then, Sri Lanka is known as a fierceful team in International cricket.

In the 1999 Cricket World Cup, which was hosted by England and Netherlands, Sri Lanka got a victory under the captaincy of Ranatunga. In the 1996 matches, the members were Jayasuriya, Muralitharan, Mahanama, Hashan, Kaluwitharana, Vaas, De Silva, Pramodya, and Chandana who played brilliantly in the 1999 edition as well but Sri Lanka again failed to past the group stage as per the Sri Lanka cricket news.

The 2003 edition of the Cricket World Cup which was hosted by South Africa, Zimbabwe, and Kenya, Jayasuriya captained the team. In the quarterfinal stage, they got a defeat from Australia and India but won against Zimbabwe. They ended their campaign losing to Australia in the semi-final stage.

From the latest cricket update Sri Lanka, the 2011 edition of the 9th World Cup was hosted by West Indies, Mahela Jayawardena led the Sri Lankan team. In the semi-finals, SL defeated NZ but were thrashed to Australia in the final that was led by Rickey Ponting.

India, Bangladesh and Sri Lanka jointly hosted the 2011 edition of the Cricket World Cup. Kumar Sangakkara captained Sri Lankan side and defeated England in quarterfinals and New Zealand in the semi-finals to encounter MS Dhoni’s Indian cricket team in the final match. In the finale, Jayawardene smashed a century to progress his team's total to 274 with a loss of 6 wickets. India played with a shaky start, where Sehwag and Tendulkar both got an early dismissal by Malinga, and led them struggling at 31 for two. Kohli and Gautam Gambhir put on an 83-run partnership before Kohli lost his wicket. Gambhir kept amassing the scores and got 97 runs while Dhoni was unbeaten with a score of 91. In the ODI World Cup final, Sri Lanka lost their 2nd consecutive match.

The 2015 World cup was hosted by Australia and New Zealand had Angelo Mathews, captained by Sri Lankan team. In the quarterfinals, Sri Lanka got a defeat from South Africa after failing to chase a poor total of 133 runs. With this match, Sangakkara and Mahela Jayawardena put an end to their ODI careers.

Tracing Back the History of Sri Lanka Cricket

Sri Lanka cricket team came into being with the formation of the Colombo Cricket Club in 1832. By the 1880s, a national cricket team, the Ceylon National Cricket team was formed. They started playing first-class cricket by the 1920s and achieved the ICC associate member status in 1965.

Renamed Sri Lanka in 1972, the national team began their competitive approach in top-level international cricket in 1975 by playing against West Indies in the 1975 Cricket World Cup edition. West Indies dominated them by 9 wickets at Old Trafford, Manchester, England.

After Sri Lanka got the Test status on 21 July 1981 as the 8th Test-playing nation, they were kept waiting until 6 September 1985 to taste their first Test win by defeating India.

Sri Lanka won their first ODI win at Manchester, England, on 16 June 1979, in a battle against India. They got a victory in the 1996 Cricket World Cup, were co-champions of the 2002 ICC Champions Trophy and also became Asian Champions in 5 editions in 1986, 1997, 2004, 2008, and 2014.

Sri Lanka played their first T20 International match at the Rose Bowl, on 15 June 2006, against England, with a win by 2 runs. In 2014, they won the 2014 ICC World T20, thrashing India by 6 wickets.

As of July 2018, Sri Lanka had witnessed 9 teams in Test cricket, being the only recent Test nations. Afghanistan and Ireland missed out the opportunity with their most frequent opponent being Pakistan, against whom they have appeared in 51 matches.

Among the usual major ODI nations, Sri Lanka smashed England the most number of times; 34. Sri Lanka team has battled with 13 countries in T20Is, and played 15 matches against New Zealand. They have defeated Australia and West Indies 6 times each in the matches. Sri Lanka successfully reached the World T20 finals 3 times as per the Sri Lanka Cricket news.

As of July 2018, Sri Lanka got to play 272 Test matches, getting a win in 86 of them, losing 101, and drawing 85. They had appeared in 816 ODI matches, winning 376 ,and losing 399; 5 matches were tied and 36 were declared with no result. Sri Lanka had played 108 T20I matches, winning 54, losing 52, 1 tied, and 1 ended with no result.

From 8 July 2017 to 23 October 2017, Sri Lanka had tasted defeat in 12 consecutive ODI matches, which was their second-longest losing run in ODI matches. Meanwhile, Sri Lanka was whitewashed 5-0 three times by South Africa, India, and Pakistan in 2017.

For the Sri Lanka cricket news and the latest cricket update Sri Lanka, stay tuned with CBTF Speed News today!