Ruturaj Gaikwad Becomes the First Batter in List A Cricket to Smash 7 Sixes In an Over
Posted on November 29, 2022 by cbtfhome

Ruturaj Gaikwad Becomes the First Batter in List A Cricket to Smash 7 Sixes In an Over In recent years, the CSK and Maharashtra's opener, Ruturaj Gaikwad has shown his caliber, from winning the orange cup in the IPL to back-to-back centuries in domestic cricket. Today, Ruturaj has formed a record of hitting 7 sixes in an over in List-A cricket against Uttar Pradesh in the quarter-final of the Vijay Hazare Trophy 2022 at the Narendra Modi Stadium, Ahmedabad.

He has set many records in his innings. CSK opener scored 220* runs in 159 balls and hit 10 fours and 16 sixes. He became the first Maharashtra batter to touch the mark of a double century in List A cricket, and he also smashed 16 sixes in his inning. That is equal to Rohit Sharma's most sixes in List A cricket. He scored 42 runs in an over with 7 sixes which is the highest by any batter in List A cricket.

UP's left-arm orthodox spinner Siva Singh came to bowl in the 49th over against Ruturaj Gaikwad and hit every ball out of the park. The 5th ball of the 49th over was a no-ball and hit for the six. Siva Singh came to bowl with a bowling figure of 45 runs in 8 overs, and his bowling figure reached 88 runs in 9 overs.

Maharashtra Vs Uttar Pradesh In the second quarter-final between Maharashtra and Uttar Pradesh, UP won the toss and was elected to field first. Maharashtra opener Rahul Tripathi and Ruturaj Gaikwad came to open, and Tripathi returned to the pavilion very early. They lost their second wicket on 42 runs, but Ruturaj held one side and made two crucial partnerships with Ankit Bawne and Azim Kazi. They scored 37 runs in 54 and 37 runs in 42 balls, respectively. Ruturaj Gaikwad scored 220* runs and 159 balls and hit 10 fours and 16 sixes, including 7 sixes in an over. Maharashtra scored 330 runs for 5 wickets in 50 overs. Kartik Tyagi took the maximum 3 wickets, and Shivam Sharma and Ankit Rajpoot took one wicket each.

In response, UP openers Madhav Kaushik and Aryan Juyal came to open, but they lost Madhav Kaushik very early. Priyam Garg came to bat at third position and got out after adding 22 runs in 20 balls. Aryan Juyal was holding one end while the batter was getting out, and he got no support from the other batters. He scored 159 runs in 143 balls and hit 18 fours and 3 sixes. The second-highest scorer was Shivam Sharma, who scored 33 runs in 41 balls. UP got all out at 270 runs in 47.4 overs and lost the match by 58 runs. Rajvardhan Hangargekar took the five wickets, Satyajeet Bachhav and Shamshuzama Kazi took 2 wickets, and Manoj Ingale took one wicket.