South Africa Cricket Team News

Full Name - South Africa

Nick Name - Proteas

Founder - 1889

Prominent Players- AB de Villiers, Hashim Amla, Dale Steyn, Faf du Plessis, Kagiso Rabada

South Africa Squad

Temba Bavuma Batsman Right Handed 32
Quinton de Kock Wicketkeeper Left Handed 29
Heinrich Klaasen Wicketkeeper Right Handed 31
Reeza Hendricks Batsman Right Handed 33
Keshav Maharaj Bowler Left Arm 32
Aiden Markram All Rounder Right Handed 28
David Miller Batsman Left Handed 33
Lungisani Ngidi Bowler Right Arm 26
Anrich Nortje Bowler Right Arm 28
Wayne Parnell All Rounder Left Handed 33
Dwaine Pretorius All Rounder Right Handed 33
Kagiso Rabada Bowler Right Arm 27
Rilee Rossouw Batsman Left Handed 33
Tabraiz Shamsi Bowler - 32
Tristan Stubbs Batsman Right Handed 22

About South Africa

Captain – Faf du Plessis (Tests & ODI), Quinton de Kock (T20I)

Head Coach – Thabiso Enoch Nkwe

Representing – South Africa

Team Colour – Green

Sponsorship – Standard Bank

Only the South Africa Cricket Team represents the Republic of South Africa in all events held by the International Cricket Council, including the ICC Champions Trophy, ICC Cricket World Cup, and World Test Championship according to SA cricket news. Additionally, this team represents the Republic of South Africa in all international bilateral and multilateral series infrequently recognised by the International Cricket Council.

History of South Africa

The third team to play Test cricket was South Africa, which took on England in a two-match series on March 12 at Port Elizabeth. But South Africa lost the series 2-0.

The South African team competed in their debut One Day International game against India at Kolkata on November 10, 1991. With a 2-1 victory, the Indian team claimed the three-match series as per cricket SA news.

The T20 International cricket was introduced to South Africa on October 21, 2005, when the New Zealand cricket team travelled to Johannesburg as the opposition and overcame the newcomer by a margin of five wickets.

Due to socioeconomic problems in the country, the South African cricket team was not allowed to compete in international tournaments in 1970. The South African team rose to the top of cricket once the ban was lifted in 1991.

Performance in Major Tournaments

The South African team has participated in every ICC competition, with the exception of the first four Cricket World Cups, as a result of their absence from international cricket, as per South Africa cricket team news. It was also the first team to win the ICC Champions trophy in 1998, which remains its only victory in an ICC event.

ICC Cricket World Cup

The South African team has competed in 64 matches over eight World Cups, winning 38 of them. South Africa has one of the highest winning percentages in the ODI World Cup with only 23 losses. Although they have participated in four semifinal matches—in 1992, 1999, 2007, and 2015—they have yet to compete in a World Cup final.

ICC Champions Trophy

South Africa has also taken part in every ICC Champions Trophy tournament and has won the competition once. Over the course of eight tournament editions, it has participated in 24 games, winning 12 of them. Additionally, it has participated in five semifinal games of the competition in 1998, 2000, 2002, 2006, and 2013.

ICC T20 World Cup

The South African cricket team hosted the ICC T20 World Cup for the first time in 2007, although they lost in the Super 8 stage. The team has so far competed in six T20 World Cups and played 30 matches in the competition over a nine-year period. It has two semifinal appearances (in 2009 and 2014), 18 wins, and 12 losses.

Governing Body

The International Cricket Council has given Cricket South Africa the go-ahead to oversee cricket in South Africa. Its main office is located in Johannesburg, South Africa according to South Africa cricket board news. The United Cricket Cricket Board of South Africa was established on June 29, 1991. The organization's name was later changed to Cricket South Africa. The organisation is led by Thabang Monroe, who also serves as CEO.

The Momentum One Day Cup, T20 Domestic Cup, and Sunfoil Series are just a handful of the domestic events that Cricket South Africa hosts. The brand-new Mzansi Super League is Cricket South Africa's T20 league.

Support Staff

The South African cricket team's support staff is overseen by Thabiso Enoch Nkwe, the team's director. It also includes coaches and trainers that Cricket South Africa employs as per cricket update South Africa.

Team Director Thabiso Enoch Nkwe
Head Coach Mark Boucher
Batting Coach Justin Sammons
Bowling Coach Charl Langeveldt
Fielding Coach Justin Lee Ontong
Fitness Trainer Gregory Allen King
Physiotherapist Craig Govender

South Africa's National Team Uniform

The South African squad plays Test cricket while sporting flannel, much like the other teams. Because yellow is its secondary colour, it wears a green jersey with yellow patches on the shirt and pants during limited-overs cricket. The South African Sports Commission's King Protea badge can be seen on the left of the shirt. The logo of the current sponsor, Standard Bank, is displayed on the right side of the jersey. The logo for New Balance Athletics, the business that makes the jerseys, can be seen on the left sleeve of the jersey as per South Africa cricket team news.

For one-day international matches, the jersey is light green; for T20 international matches, it is yellow. The leggings are still green. During ICC Tournaments, the jersey is modified, and the tournament insignia is sewn into the right side of the shirt. The sponsor's and the kit manufacturer's logos are placed on the sleeves, while South Africa is emblazoned over the front of the jersey.