Pakistan Cricket News

Captain - Azhar Ali (Test), Sarfaraz Ahmend (ODI), Babar Azam (T20I)

Head Coach - Misbah-ul-Haq

Assistant Coach - Shahid Aslam

Representing - Pakistan

Team Colour - Green

Founded - 1952

Team Owner(s) - Pakistan Cricket Board

Prominent Players - Babar Azam, Imam-ul-Haq, Fakhar Zaman, Mohammad Amir, Wahab Riaz.

All three of the game's formats are played by the Pakistani cricket team, which competes on an international level. The team represents the nation in international competitions like the World Cup and takes part in regular series against other nations according to Pakistan cricket team news.

The Pakistan Cricket Board is in charge of managing the Pakistan national cricket team, also known as the Shaheens, Green Shirts, Men in Green, and Cornered Tigers (PCB). The team competes in Test, One Day International (ODI), and Twenty20 International cricket matches as a Full Member of the International Cricket Council.

In 446 Test matches, Pakistan has won 146, lost 136, and drawn 164. On 28 July 1952, Pakistan received Test status. India defeated Pakistan in their first Test match at the Feroz Shah Kotla Ground in Delhi by an innings and 70 runs.

The team has played 945 one-day internationals, winning 498, losing 418, tied 9, and having 20 games concluded in a tie. Pakistan won the World Cup in 1992 and finished second in the 1999 competition. Together with other nations in South Asia, Pakistan hosted the 1987 and 1996 World Cups. The 1996 World Cup final was held in Lahore's Gaddafi Stadium.

Additionally, the group has participated in 205 Twenty20 International matches , winning 125, losing 72, and tying 3. Pakistan finished second in the 2007 inaugural competition and won the 2009 ICC World Twenty20 according to the Pakistan cricket team update.

The ICC Cricket World Cup (1992), ICC T20 World Cup (2009), and ICC Champions Trophy (2017) are the three major ICC international cricket competitions that Pakistan has won. In addition, Pakistan became the fourth side to win the ICC Test Championship in 2016 as well.

The Pakistan cricket team is ranked third in ODIs, third in T20Is, and fifth in Tests as of June 9, 2022, according to the ICC.

The decrease in foreign teams visiting Pakistan was caused by the rise in terrorism as a result of the war on terror. No Test matches were played in Sri Lanka after the 2009 attack on the national cricket team there until 2019. Their home games have been hosted primarily in the United Arab Emirates between 2009 and 2016. However, numerous teams have visited Pakistan since 2015 as a result of a decline in terrorism in Pakistan over the previous few years as well as increased security. [27] These teams include an ICC World XI squad as well as Zimbabwe, Sri Lanka, the West Indies, Bangladesh, South Africa, and Australia. Additionally, Pakistan has hosted matches for the Pakistan Super League.


In 1952, Pakistan joined the International Cricket Council (ICC) as a full member. But cricket matches have been played in Pakistan's modern cities even before 1952. In Karachi, Pakistan, the first-ever international cricket game was played in 1935. Cricket experienced enormous growth in the nation after gaining independence in 1947. In Delhi in 1952, they played their first-ever Test match against India.

ICC Cricket World Cup

Ever since the first World Cup in 1975, Pakistan has participated constantly. Imran Khan served as captain for their lone victory to date in 1992 according to cricket update Pakistan. In 1999, they finished second after falling to Australia in the championship game. In 1987 and 1996, they served as the tournament's co-hosts.

Out of the 80 matches that Pakistan played, they won 45 matches and lost matches.

ICC T20 World Cup

Pakistan has taken part in each of the tournament's six previous iterations. In 2009, they won the trophy by defeating Sri Lanka's cricket team. When the T20 World Cup first began, they finished second.

Out of the 34 matches that Pakistan played in ICC T20 World Cup, they won 19, lost 14 and 1 match was declared as a tie.

ICC Champions Trophy

The Pakistan cricket team has competed in all eight ICC Champions Trophy tournaments. They defeated their sworn enemy, the Indian cricket team , in the championship game at The Oval to win the previous competition in 2017 according to Pakistan cricket news.

Out of the 23 matches that Pakistan played in the ICC Champions Trophy, they won 11 and lost 12.

Asia Cup

Cricket players from the Asian Cricket Council compete in the Asia Cup (ACC). In 1986 and 2014, the Pakistani cricket team won the championship. It also held the competition in 2008, and the 2020 competition is slated to take place there.

In the One Day International Format, Pakistan played 45 matches out of which they won 26, and lost 18 and in the T20I format, they played only 4 matches, out of which they won 2 matches and lost 2 matches.

Governing Body

The Pakistan Cricket Board oversees the national cricket team of Pakistan (PCB). In 1949, the Board was established. Its main office is in Lahore, Pakistan. The Board is in charge of planning all of the national cricket team of Pakistan's travels and contests.

Support Staff

Team Manager - Mansoor Rana

Batting Coach - Misbah-ul-Haq

Fielding Coach - Grant Bradburn

Bowling Coach - Waqar Younis

Team Analyst - Talha Butt

Physio - Cliffe Deacon

Pakistan Team Jersey

The limited-overs jerseys for Pakistan were a certain shade of green. In addition to green, the jersey has previously included blue, yellow, and golden hues according to Pakistan cricket team news.

Trophies and Awards

Year Trophy/Award
1986 Austral-Asia Cup
1990 Austral-Asia Cup
1992 ICC Cricket World Cup
1994 Austral-Asia Cup
1999 Asian Test Championship
2000 Asia Cup
2009 ICC T20 World Cup
2012 Asia Cup
2017 ICC Champions Trophy

Fan Following

Wherever the Pakistani cricket team competes, Pakistanis show their support in spades. The supporters of the teams are extremely fervent and demand nothing less than excellence from their team. While the team falls short of the fans' high expectations, particularly when against India, a team that is the team's fiercest adversary, the fans can respond harshly.

Pakistan Cricket Squad

Player Role Style Age
Babar Azam Batsman Right Handed 27
Shadab Khan All Rounder Right Handed 24
Asif Ali Batsman Right Handed 31
Haider Ali Batsman Right Handed 22
Haris Rauf Bowler Right Arm 28
Iftikhar Ahmed All Rounder Right Handed 32
Khushdil Shah Batsman Left Handed 27
Mohammad Hasnain Bowler Right Arm 22
Mohammad Rizwan Wicketkeeper Right Handed 30
Mohammad Wasim Bowler Right Arm 21
Naseem Shah Bowler Right Arm 19
Shaheen Afridi Bowler Left Arm 22
Shan Masood Batsman Left Handed 32
Mohammad Nawaz All Rounder Left Handed 28
Usman Qadir Bowler Right Arm 29

For all the latest Pakistan cricket news,CBTF Speed News is your one-stop shop, and you can check the Ireland cricket team page for the latest news updates.