Bangladesh Cricket News

Captain - Mominul Haque (Tests), Mashrafe bin Mortaza (One Day Internationals), Mahmudullah Riyad (T20Is)

Head Coach - Russell Craig Domingo

Team Colour - Dark Green

In all competitions held by the International Cricket Council, the premier cricket organisation in the world, the Bangladesh Cricket Team is the only representative of the People's Republic of Bangladesh. The Bangladesh Cricket Team competes on behalf of Bangladesh in all International Cricket Council-recognized bilateral and international cricket competitions according to Bangladesh cricket news.


The Bangladesh Cricket Team was the first team to receive the designation as a Test-playing nation in the twenty-first century and the tenth team overall. At the Bongobondhu National Stadium in Dhaka, Bangladesh faced off against India in its inaugural Test match on November 10, 2000. The game had been lost by nine wickets, and it had only lasted four days according to Bangladesh national cricket team news.

The Bangladesh Cricket Team, on the other hand, had to wait over 4 years to claim its first-ever Test cricket victory, which came against Zimbabwe on January 10, 2005, at Chittagong. This game was the first one Bangladesh has ever won in a two-game series versus Zimbabwe.

When Bangladesh competed in the 1985–86 Asia Cup, they first played One Day International cricket matches. On March 31, 1986, at Moratuwa, Pakistan played Bangladesh in the first One Day International match. Pakistan won by a score of 7 wickets.

It took Bangladesh approximately 12 years to achieve its first triumph in limited-overs cricket. On May 17, 1998, at Hyderabad, they defeated Kenya by a score of six wickets in their first One Day International match.

On November 28, 2006, at Khulna, Bangladesh played its first-ever T20I match against Zimbabwe, which it won by a score of 43 runs. It was one of the rare nations to triumph in its opening T20I game according to the Bangladesh cricket team update.

ICC Cricket World Cup

The Bangladesh Cricket Team has participated in 40 matches across six World Cup competitions since 1999. Despite winning 14 games, they have never advanced past the quarterfinals. Their finest performance to date was when they did make it to the ICC World Cup Quarterfinals in 2015 according to cricket update Bangladesh.

ICC Champions Trophy

The Bangladesh Cricket Team has competed in 7 ICC Champions Trophy competitions, but none of them has resulted in a victory. In spite of participating in every tournament since the 2000–2001 ICC Champions Trophy, they have only won two games in the entire event thus far.

ICC T20 World Cup

Due to its status as a country that participates in Test cricket, the Bangladesh Cricket team has also participated in every T20I World Cup so far. It has participated in 25 games, but so far in the competition, it has only won 5. In 2007, 2014, and 2016, they advanced to the second round of the competition, which is still their best result to date.

Governing Body

The supreme entity in charge of overseeing all cricket-related activities in Bangladesh is the Bangladesh Cricket Board. It was founded in 1972, recognised as a regional member by the International Cricket Council in 1977, and granted full membership status on June 26, 2000. The Bangladesh Cricket Board also has a 1983-awarded affiliation with the Asian Cricket Council according to Bangladesh cricket news.

Nazmul Hasan Papon serves as the board's president, and Abu Jahed Mohammad Nasir Uddin serves as vice president. Nizamuddin Chowdhury serves as the Bangladesh Cricket Board's chief executive officer. The Sher e Bangla Stadium in Mirpur, Dhaka, is home to the BCB's administrative offices.

The National Cricket League, Bangladesh Cricket League, Bangladesh Cricket League T20, and Dhaka Premier Division Cricket League are a few of the significant competitions run by the Bangladesh Cricket Board.

Support Staff

A highly skilled team of employees from all over the world supports the Bangladesh Cricket Team. It has a variety of instructors and trainers under the direction of Director Khaled Mahmud Sujon.

The Bangladesh Team Jersey

Flannels are used by the Bangladesh Cricket Team, just like they are by every other Test-playing team. The team wears a dark green jersey for the limited-overs format with little patches of blood red as the secondary colour. Bangladesh is shown on the jersey against a red background, and the Bangladesh Cricket Board's logo is located on the left side of the chest.

On the right side of the breast is the BRAC Bank logo, the company that made the uniform. Right-handed batsmen wear the sponsor's name on their left sleeve, whereas left-handed batsmen wear it on their right sleeve.

The tournament logo is placed on the right side of the chest of the jersey during ICC competitions. The name of the kit sponsor is then moved to the player's other sleeve. On the field, the players wear dark green helmets, caps, and hats. The squad also has an alternate jersey that is blood-red with dark green spots on the sleeves. This jersey was used just once during the 2019 ICC World Cup and is not occasionally worn.


The Bangladesh Cricket Team has won 168 of its 581 matches across all game types so far. The team has only won 13 of the 116 matches it has played in Test format, but 125 of the 373 matches it has played in One Day Internationals. With 30 victories in 82 games, the Bangladesh Cricket Team has displayed its greatest performance in the T20I format of cricket.

In Test cricket, Bangladesh has suffered 21 straight losses, all of which occurred between 15 November 2001 and 19 February 2004, setting a record. With 34 games, it also retains the record for the most Test Cricket games played without a win. The Bangladeshi squad played in 31 losses and 3 draws during these games. In addition, Bangladesh is the team that has given up the most runs in Test Cricket to a night watchman (Jason Gillespie, who scored 201 runs).

Bangladesh owns the top two positions in ODI cricket for having suffered the most straight losses. From 8 October 1999 to 9 October 2002, it suffered 23 straight losses, and from 31 March 1986 to 14 May 1998, it suffered 22 straight losses according to Bangladesh cricket news.

Bangladesh has a strong track record in Twenty20 internationals and is one of the few teams to have won a game on the very last ball. However, it lost four times when the game's final ball came up.

Trophies and Awards

The 1997 ICC Trophy is the only ICC Trophy that the Bangladesh Cricket team has ever won. Apart from that, Bangladesh participated in the 2016 Asia Cup finals, which is still the greatest showing in a multilateral competition to date.

For all the latest Bangladesh cricket team news,CBTF Speed News is the website where you can check the Bangladesh cricket team page for the latest news updates.