Australia Cricket Team News

The Australian cricket team plays at a national level which is the joint oldest team in Test cricket, appearing in the first test match in 1877 by defeating England by 45 runs.

Australia has played 7 World Cup finals and won in the Cricket World Cup 5 times in the year, 1987, 1999, 2003, 2007 & 2015. The team is also the two times winner of the ICC Champions Trophy in 2006 and 2009, which led them to be the first and the only team to become back-to-back champions in the Champions Trophy tournaments.

Australia has also been the ICC U19 Cricket World Cup champions in 1988 and 2002. It is the reigning ICC Men’s T20 World Cup Champions by giving a defeat to New Zealand in the 2021 final to clinch their first T20 World Cup title. To get the Australia Cricket news today, stay tuned.

History of Australia Cricket

In international men’s cricket, Australia dominates the cricket world. Australia's team participates in One Day Internationals and T20 Internationals along with test cricket and played the first test cricket in 1877.

They appeared for the first time in ODI against England in 1970-71 and first T20I against New Zealand in 2005-05 season, getting a victory in both the matches. Cricket Australia brings the team competing in the Sheffield Shield which is a domestic cricket tournament, played in limited overs and the Big Bash League as well.

The national team has appeared in 844 test matches with 400 wins, 277 defeats, 215 draws and 2 ties. Currently, Australia is holding the ranking in the iCC Test Championship with 128 rating as of May 2022. When it comes to total wins, with loss percent, Australia has been the most successful squad in Test Cricket when you will know the Australia cricket news today.

The side has played Border-Gavaskar Trophy with India, the Frank Worrell Trophy with West Indies, the Trans-Tasman Trophy with New Zealand and South Africa are some great examples of test battles of Australia.

Cricket Match Appearances

Australia has played 972 ODIs, winning 589, losing 340, drawing 9 games, and getting 34 games in a tie. Australia holds the first position for 141 of the 185 months since the ICC ODI Championship's inception in 2002.

However, as of May 2022, currently they are ranked 3rd with 107 rating points. With a record 7 World Cup final appearances in 1975, 1987, 1996, 1999, 2003, 2007, and 2015 and a record 5 World Cup victories in the year 1987, 1999, 2003, 2007, and 2015, Australia is recognized as the most successful team in ODI cricket history. They have also won more than 60% of their games.

The West Indies had held the record for the most consecutive World Cup gameplays with three wins in 1975, 1979, and 1983, but Australia broke that mark in 1996, 1999, 2003, and 2007. Moreover, Australia is the first and only team to win the World Cup three consecutive times in 1999, 2003, and 2007 as per the Australia cricket news today.

Until Pakistan defeated them by 4 wickets in the group stage of 2011 Cricket World Cup, the team has won 34 straight World Cup games with no loss. It has also become the 2nd nation after India to get consecutive wins in Champions Trophy competitions, having previous wins in ICC Champions Trophy twice in 2006 and 2009. Australia has won 5 Cricket World Cups as of 2021, dominating the cricket world.

ICC T20 World Cup

The ICC T20 World Cup was formerly known as World T20. Australia is the only nation to get a failure in the ICC multi-nation competition. When England's cricket team thrashed Australia in the finals in the Caribbean islands in 2010, they came closer to winning the championship trophy.

Test Match Stats

Most Career Runs

Player Runs Average Career Span
Ricky Ponting 13,378 51.85 1995-2012
Allan Border 11,174 50.56 1978-1994
Steve Waugh 10,927 51.06 1985-2004
Michael Clarke 8,643 49.10 2004-2015
Matthew Hayden 8,625 50.73 1994-2009

Most Career Wickets

Player Wickets Average Career Span
Shane Warne 708 25.41 1992-2007
Glenn McGrath 563 21.64 1993-2007
Nathon Lyon 438 32.07 2011-2022
Dennis Lillee 355 23.92 1971-1984
Mitchell Johnson 313 28.40 2007-2015

ODI Stats

Most Career Runs

Player Runs Average Career Span
Ricky Ponting 13,589 41.81 1995-2012
Adam Gilchrist 9,595 35.93 1996-2008
Mark Waugh 8,500 39.35 1988-2002
Michael Clarke 7,981 44.58 2003-2015
Steve Waugh 7,569 32.90 1986-2002

Most Career Wickets

Player Wickets Average Career Span
Glenn McGrath 380 21.98 1993-2007
Brett Lee 380 23.36 2000-2012
Shane Warne 291 25.82 1993-2003
Mitchell Johnson 239 25.26 2005-2015
Mitchell Starc 206 22.22 2010-2022
T20 Stats

Most Career Runs

Player Runs Average Career Span
Aaron Finch 3,026 33.62 2011-2022
David Warner 2,855 33.58 2009-2022
Glenn Maxwell 2,069 27.95 2012-2022
Shane Watson 1,462 29.24 2006-2016
Matthew Wade 1,005 25.12 2011-2022

Most Career Wickets

Player Wickets Average Career Span
Adam Zampa 78 22.30 2016-2022
Mitchell Starc 70 22.95 2012-2022
Josh Hazelwood 55 19.96 2013-2022
Pat Cummins 52 24.30 2011-2022
Shane Watson 48 24.72 2006-2016

To keep yourself up with the Australia cricket news today and the latest cricket updates, stay connected with CBTF Speed News.