Australia Cricket News

Captain - Aaron Finch (ODIs and T20Is), Tim Paine (Tests)

Head Coach - Justin Langer

Assistant Coach - Shahid Aslam

Representing - Australia

Team Colour - Yellow (ODIs), Green, Yellow and Black (T20Is)

Sponserships - Alinta (Home), Qantas (Away), ASICS

In international men's cricket, Australia is represented by the men's national cricket team. The team participates in One-Day International (ODI) and Twenty20 International (T20I) cricket and is the joint-oldest team in Test cricket history, having played in the first-ever Test match in 1877. The team has also taken part in the first ODI (against England in the 1970–71 season) and the first T20I (against New Zealand in the 2004–05 season), winning both matches. The team recruits its players from teams competing in the Sheffield Shield, the domestic limited-overs cricket tournament, and the Big Bash League in Australia.

844 Test matches have been played by the national team, with 400 victories, 227 defeats, 215 draws, and 2 ties. Australia currently holds the top spot in the ICC Test Championship with 128 rating points as of May 2022. In terms of total victories, win-loss percentage, and percentage of victories, Australia has been the most successful side in Test cricket history according to Australia news cricket.

The Border-Gavaskar Trophy (with India), the Frank Worrell Trophy (with the West Indies), the Trans-Tasman Trophy (with New Zealand), and South Africa are some examples of test rivalries.

The team has played 972 ODIs, winning 589, losing 340, drawing 9 games, and having 34 games concluded in a tie. Australia has been ranked first for 141 of the 185 months since the ICC ODI Championship's inception in 2002, however as of May 2022, they are currently positioned third with 107 rating points. With a record seven World Cup final appearances (1975, 1987, 1996, 1999, 2003, 2007 and 2015) and a record five World Cup victories (1987, 1999, 2003, 2007 and 2015), Australia is the most successful team in ODI cricket history, winning more than 60% of their games. The West Indies had held the record for the most consecutive World Cup appearances with three (1975, 1979, and 1983), but Australia (1996, 1999, 2003, and 2007) broke that mark. Additionally, Australia is the first (and only) side to win three consecutive World Cups (1999, 2003 and 2007) according to cricket AUS news. Up until Pakistan defeated them by 4 wickets in the Group stage of the 2011 Cricket World Cup, the team had won 34 straight World Cup games without losing. It is also the second nation, after India, to win the World Cup (2015) at home (2011). Australia is the first and only team to win back-to-back Champions Trophy competitions, having previously won the ICC Champions Trophy twice (in 2006 and 2009). Australia has won five Cricket World Cups as of 2021; no other side has won more than two.

In 169 Twenty20 International games, the national team has won 89, lost 74, tied three, and had three games end in a tie. Australia has 251 rating points and is currently ranked fifth in the ICC T20I Championship as of May 2022. The current ICC Men's T20 World Cup champions, Australia, won their first T20 World Cup by defeating New Zealand in the final in 2021.

Australia recorded their 1,000th victory in international cricket on January 12, 2019, when they defeated India by 34 runs in the opening one-day international at the Sydney Cricket Ground according to Australia cricket news.


One of the first national cricket teams in history is the Australian Cricket Team. They played in the first Test match ever played in 1877, the first ODI ever played in 1971, the first T20I ever played in 2005, and the first Day/Night Test ever played in 2015. They have taken part in all of the multi-nation competitions that the ICC has held over the years.

ICC Cricket World Cup

Since 1975, the Australian cricket team has competed in every ICC Cricket World Cup. They have taken home the championship the most often—five times, including a triple trick of victories from 1999 to 2007. The other two titles were in 2015 and 1987. They finished second in the first edition in 1975 and 1996. In 1992 and 2015, they co-hosted a World Cup event with New Zealand according to Australia cricket team news.

ICC T20 World Cup

The ICC T20 World Cup, formerly known as World T20, is the only ICC multi-nation competition that the Australian Cricket team has failed to win. When England's cricket team defeated them in the Finals in the Caribbean islands in 2010, they came close to winning the championship. They would never be able to return to the Finals. The T20 World Cup in 2020 will be held in Australia.

ICC Champions Trophy

In tournaments that were held back-to-back, the Men in Yellow won the Championship twice, in 2006 and 2009. They haven't participated in any previous Finals. Australia has never hosted the ICC Champions Trophy, formerly known as the ICC Knockout Trophy.

Governing Body

The organization in charge of overseeing domestic cricket in the nation and the Australian cricket team is called Cricket Australia (formerly known as the Australian Cricket Board). As the "Australian Board of Control for International Cricket," was established in 1905 according to cricket AUS news. Its main office is in Melbourne. The operating revenue for Cricket Australia is close to $100 million.


The majority of the Australian limited-overs shirts have always been yellow, with varying shades of green added for different designs. The T20I jersey was predominantly designed in dark green with yellow accents, and the matching pants were black. There are no longer any noticeable differences between the jerseys, with yellow being the color they prefer.

Fan Following

The spectacular World Cup performances and total dominance of world cricket around the turn of the century can be attributed to Australia's large fan base. With the introduction of the Big Bash League, a global T20 tournament held in Australia with teams representing the nation's cities, they have reclaimed their fan base.

On social media, Cricket Australia has a sizable following. They have nearly 7 million Facebook fans, over 1 million Instagram followers, and over 100,000 followers on Twitter according to Australia cricket news.

For all the latest Australia cricket news, CBTF Speed News is the website where you can check the Australia cricket team page for the latest news updates.