Home International Cricket News Zimbabwe Name 17-Man Squad for India ODIs | CBTF News

Zimbabwe Name 17-Man Squad for India ODIs | CBTF News

Zimbabwe Name 17-Man Squad for India ODIs | CBTF News

Recently, Chakabva took Zimbabwe to a 2-1 series victory against Bangladesh. Now, he’ll try to keep the momentum going against a far more powerful Indian team.

For a three-match ODI series starting on August 18 at home against India, Zimbabwe has named a 17-member squad. Chris Ervine, a wicketkeeper and batter, was replaced as captain by Regis Chakbava because of his ongoing injury. Recently, Chakabva guided Zimbabwe to a 2-1 series victory against Bangladesh. Now, he’ll try to keep the momentum going against a far more powerful Indian team.

Sikandar Raza, a Pakistani-born player who shone in the ODI series, was picked to the team on Thursday by newly appointed coach Dave Houghton. His unbroken scores of 135 and 117 were crucial in establishing a 2-0 advantage over the Bangladeshis, thanks to two great run chases.

Houghton has led Zimbabwe to nine victories in 11 ODI and T20 games after taking over as coach from the Indian-born Lalchand Rajput in June.

In addition to Ervine, Zimbabwe will be without injured players Blessing Muzarabani, Tendai Chatara, and Wellington Masakadza, as well as former captain Sean Williams, who will not be available against India.

Let’s Check the Players

KL Rahul, who joined the team after passing a fitness test, will be in charge of India. India still has a quality team to try for another clean sweep against Zimbabwe even though regular skipper Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, Rishabh Pant, Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, and Yuzvendra Chahal were rested from this series to get ready for the Asia Cup.

The Harare Sports Club will host the series, which is a part of the Cricket World Cup Super League.

Ryan Burl, Tanaka Chivanga, Bradley Evans, Luke Jongwe, Innocent Kaia, Takudzwanashe Kaitano, Clive Madande, Wessly Madhevere, Tadiwanashe Marumani, Richard Ngarava, Victor Nyauchi, Sikandar Raza, Milton Shumba, and Donald Tiripano make up the Zimbabwe squad.

Zimbabwe as a National Cricket Team

Due to losing five out of their six games, Zimbabwe’s first World Cup campaign in 1983 came to an end at the group stage. They did, however, throw a surprise at Australia. First-innings batters Zimbabwe reached 239 for 6 in the allowed 60 overs, with captain Duncan Fletcher leading the way with 69 not out. Fletcher then recorded a shocking upset in cricket history by restricting Australia to 226 for 7 with career-best stats of 4 for 42. Zimbabwe lost all six of its group stage games in the 1987 World Cup, although coming extremely close to defeating New Zealand. David Houghton, a wicketkeeper-batsman, scored 142 while Zimbabwe needed 243 to win from 50 overs, but they were dismissed for 239 in the penultimate over, losing by 3 runs.

Zimbabwe lost seven of their eight matches at the 1992 tournament and was unable to go past the round of 16, despite two remarkable victories. Zimbabwe’s first match saw them score their highest total to date against Sri Lanka, 312 for 4, with wicketkeeper-batsman Andy Flower leading the way with 115 not out. The Sri Lankans, who prevailed by three wickets, managed to bat down this total with four balls remaining.

Zimbabwe’s final game was a meaningless contest against England, who had already advanced to the semifinals. When Zimbabwe batted first, they were all out for 134. Then, Eddo Brandes delivered a remarkable spell of 4 for 21, including the first-ball dismissal of Graham Gooch, to assist in keeping England to 125 all out and give Zimbabwe a startling nine-run victory.

The only international games played by Zimbabwe during this time were these 20 World Cup matches.

1992–1996: The initial years of Test status

Zimbabwe got Test status from the ICC in July 1992 and played its first Test match against India at Harare Sports Club in October of that same year. They were now the ninth Test-playing nation.

Early Test performances by Zimbabwe were usually poor, raising the possibility that they had been given Test status too soon. They only triumphed once in their first 30 Test matches, defeating Pakistan at home in early 1995.

But the team quickly established itself as competitive, if not exceptionally powerful, in the one-day competition. Their fielding prowess helped them win recognition around the world in particular.

Golden years from 1997 to 2002

Despite the challenges faced by his team, wicketkeeper/batsman Andy Flower was once considered to be the best batsman in all of cricket. During this period, Zimbabwe also developed cricket players like Grant Flower, Andy Blignaut, and Heath Streak (who was later appointed national captain). A world-class batter, Murray Goodwin has contributed significantly to Sussex since retiring from international cricket. David Houghton, another outstanding batsman, holds the record for Zimbabwe’s highest individual Test score with a 266 against Sri Lanka in 1994–1995. Other significant Zimbabwean players on the international stage included former captain and middle-order batsman Alistair Campbell, leg-spinning all-rounder Paul Strang, Eddo Brandes, and pace bowler/opener Neil Johnson.

With the arrival of these quality players, Zimbabwe’s team saw a breakthrough in performance in the late 1990s, winning tests against other nations, including a series victory over Pakistan. Unfortunately, Zimbabwe’s political climate deteriorated around the same time, affecting the national squad’s performance.

For more exciting information regarding cricket headlines or cricket news, stay tuned!

Also Read : Avesh and Chahar Are Brought on Field, Captain Breaks the Pattern by Choosing to Bat | CBTF News



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here