Home News T20 World Cup – Why it’s the Best Format for Cricket | CBTF News

T20 World Cup – Why it’s the Best Format for Cricket | CBTF News

T20 World Cup – Why it’s the Best Format for Cricket | CBTF News

T20 World Cup – Why it’s the Best Format for Cricket 

T20 is one of the most exciting cricket formats, it has delivered a record viewership globally. The craze of this format is not only famous in foreign but in India as well. 

ICC T20 World Cup is the shortest format and that’s why it’s been the most happening event. However, this period is the golden opportunity for gamblers to make money.  

History of Cricket 

The England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB) considered a revised competition to draw younger audiences and sponsors when the one-day competition known as the Benson & Hedges Cup expired in 2002. The history of Twenty20 cricket began here. A quick-paced alternative that promised high-octane excitement was the 20-overs-a-side game.

In June 2003, Twenty20 cricket had its official debut as a county competition. Although the initial Twenty20 Cup wasn’t instantly successful, the format grew in acceptance and made the exciting matches more widely available.

The first T20 cricket match between the women’s cricket teams of England and New Zealand took place on August 5, 2004, at Lord’s Stadium in London, England. Since the county final in 1953, it was the largest cricket event ever, drawing close to 27,000 fans. T20 became a success because of this accomplishment, which also considerably boosted its popularity. The English T20 Blast, a T20 cricket competition, is presently very well-liked in England. Millions of spectators tune in to this tournament to cheer on the favorites and enjoy the excitement of the competitive matches. 

Get the latest cricket betting tips free.

Where Did T-20 Cricket World Cup Originate?

T20 is a condensed version of cricket that was created in New Zealand in the late 1990s by former Test batsman Martin Crowe. The first official T20 tournament, featuring English local teams, took place in 2003 because of the official rules, which were initially developed in England.

How the Craze of T20 Cricket Spread all Over the World?

Although we are aware of the roots of T20 cricket, England was not the only country to experience a rise in popularity. Pakistan took notice when the thrilling action dazzled onlookers at Lord’s. In 2004–2005, Pakistan’s first competition was organized as a full-fledged T20 league.

There were 11 teams in the domestic National Twenty20 Cup, also known as the ABN-AMRO Twenty-20 Cup that had famous Pakistanis. The league served as yet another example of T20’s resounding success, as more than 30,000 spectators watched the tournament’s championship game.

A crowd of 20,000 people attended a one-off Twenty20 match between the Western Warriors and the Victorian Bushrangers at the WACA in Perth, Australia. The Stanford 20/20, a domestic T20 tournament sponsored by millionaire Allen Stanford, was held in the West Indies.

The Queensland Bulls and New South Wales Blues engaged in another one-off Australian match in Brisbane’s The Gabba. The officials unlocked the gates for anyone wishing to witness the T20 match after the tickets sold out like hotcakes. The ultimate enrollment was 27,653.

Check out all the cricket news online, Indian Cricket News, & cricket update India here. 

T20 International Cricket (T20I)

With T20 internationals, T20 gained respectability and importance while still being made popular by international leagues. On August 5, 2004, when the first international T20 match took place in the Women’s Cricket Super League and New Zealand’s women’s team defeated England’s women’s team by a score of 9 runs, T20 officially became the third format of cricket.

On February 17, 2005, as New Zealand played host to Australia in a T20I, men also enjoyed themselves. The game’s atmosphere and spirit were significantly different from the competitive cricket matches between the two opponents. The teams showed up wearing vintage uniforms and played with more levity.

England, the nation where T20 initially began, also welcomed them in a T20I international match, one of Australia’s other opponents. On June 13, 2005, England defeated India with a score of 100. On January 9, 2006, South Africa visited Australia, drawing 38,894 spectators to the Gabba.

The International Cricket Council (ICC) has staked a claim on T20s as the format that will internationalize cricket due to its accessibility and high-action matches. As each T20 game between members of the ICC is given international status, there are currently a lot of T20 games played all around the world every year.

ICC T20 World 

Since 2007, the ICC T20 World Cup has been instrumental in developing the format and growing the sport’s popularity. Thirteen teams are participating in the competition, 12 of which are active International Cricket Council members. Here are past ICC Cricket World Cup standings.

Best T20 Cricket Leagues

Here are some of the most popular T20 leagues:

  • Indian Premier League (IPL)
  • Big Bash League (BBL)
  • Bangladesh Premier League (BPL)
  • Pakistan Super League (PSL)
  • Caribbean Premier League (CPL)

Learn about the latest cricket news, Indian cricket team news, and much more here.  

General Rules of 20-20  Cricket

T20s are limited-over games between two sides, just like ODI. Each team is given one inning with a maximum of 20 overs. A side can only bat for a total of 20 overs (120 legal deliveries). Unlike other formats, the batters don’t enter or exit the pavilion’s changing rooms, as it is an intriguing characteristic. They are sitting in a dugout instead.

Here are some rules of 20-20 Cricket 

  • A bowler can only bowl a maximum of four overs in T20 because there are a total of 20 overs in the game. As a bowler can only bowl ten overs or one-fifth of the maximum 50 over, it is essentially equivalent to ODIs.
  • A bowler who misses a ball is penalized with a “free hit” on their subsequent legal delivery. A batsman can only be removed on a free hit by being run out, hitting the ball twice, or blocking the field.
  • In a Twenty20 game, there can never be more than five fielders on the leg or side of a batsman. The Power play refers to the opening six overs of an inning. During the power play, a team is limited to 2 fielders outside the 30-yard circle. A maximum of five fielders from outside the circle are permitted after the first six over.

Check out the genuine cricket updates, and India cricket news only on CBTF Speed News.

Also Read: Top 3 Reasons Why India Will Win the ICC T20 World Cup 2022


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here