Home News T20 WORLD CUP: Bcci Revealed The New Jersey For The Men In Blue

T20 WORLD CUP: Bcci Revealed The New Jersey For The Men In Blue

T20 WORLD CUP: Bcci Revealed The New Jersey For The Men In Blue

For the forthcoming ICC Men’s T20 World Cup tournament, the men in blue are all set to dress up in new jerseys.

The ICC Men’s T20 World Cup tournament is about to commence from October 16 to November 13. A total of 16 teams will compete in the prestigious tournament. From the latest cricket news, it is unveiled that the new jersey has a slight deviation from the previous dark-coloured jerseys. The old jerseys had a darker shade and the new one is slightly lighter in shade.

In every World Cup tournament, the teams get new jerseys and the Indian squad has seen many evolutions in its shades. In the 2003 World Cup edition, the India team had the iconic tricolor painted on the bottom to the centre of the jersey and featured dark blue lines on the sides. In 2011, the tricolor stripes were painted on both sides of the jersey.

Thereafter, in 2020 and 2022, the jerseys were designed in a way to accolade Oxford Blue 1992. Jerseys in both the editions had all the similarities excluding some minor tweaks.

Following the traditional steps, the BCCI unveiled the new look for Jersey for the upcoming World Cup tournament. The Indian squad is going to wear the same jersey for the Australia and South Africa home series as well. The new jerseys have a slightly lighter shade that was in use in yesteryears.

Team India will lock horns with their on-ground rivals, Pakistan on October 23, 2022, in the T20 World Cup Campaign.

Before showing the game in the World Cup, team India is going to take on Australia on grounds in the T20I series of 3 matches that will start on Tuesday, September 20, 2022. Ahead of the 1st ODI match, the captain of the Indian cricket team, Rohit Sharma said that Virat Kohli will be the backup opener while KL Rahul will join him at the T20 World Cup. He also said that the leg-spinner Ravi Bishnoi would miss out as he decided to keep R Ashwin who delivers wonderful performances, giving a different dimension to balance the performances of the team.

‘KL Rahul will open for us at the T20 World Cup. We are not going to experiment with that position a lot. His performances often go unnoticed. He is a very important player for India’ – Rohit stated to reporters.

For opening the match, Virat Kohli said, It is always nice to have options available for you, especially if you are going into a tournament such as the T20 World Cup, you want that flexibility. It’s an option for us, and since we have not taken the third opener, he can obviously open.’


List of ICC T20 Cricket World Cup Winners (2007-2021)

S. No Winner Runner up Year
1. India Pakistan 2007
2. Pakistan Sri Lanka 2009
3. England Australia 2010
4. West Indies Sri Lanka 2012
5. Sri Lanka India 2014
6. West Indies England 2016
8. Australia New Zealand 2021/UAE and Oman

An Indian squad is a powerful unit and cricket enthusiasts have high hopes for them. After defeating England and West Indies on their home turf, team India is in good form and is anticipated to perform lethally.

With Australia’s fast & bouncy pitch conditions, the men in blue would have a tough time scoring big boundaries.For the latest cricket updates and cricket news, stay tuned with CBTF Speed News!


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here