Home Big Bash League Sydney Thunder Started the League With a Win Against Melbourne Stars

Sydney Thunder Started the League With a Win Against Melbourne Stars

Sydney Thunder Started the League With a Win Against Melbourne Stars

The 12th Big Bash League for the year 2022-23 has started, and the first match was held between Sydney Thunder Vs. Melbourne Stars on 13 Dec at Manuka Oval, Canberra. 

Sydney Thunder won the toss and opted to field first. The first inning started with Jow Clarke and Tom Rogers at the crease, and Gurinder Sandhu opened the attack. On the first ball of the league, Joe Clarke hit a boundary with a four. During the powerplay, Melbourne lost the wicket of Joe Clarke and Tom Rogers and chased 43 runs. Joe Burns left the field in the 9th over as he witnessed a hamstring injury. Stoinis replaced him but got out without scoring a single run in 8.3 overs. The run chase reached 64/3 after 10 overs. 

Cartwright and Larkin tried to hit a good run chase, but Fazalhaq Farooqi dismissed both of them in the 13th over. Melbourne lost half of the wickets at the end of 15 overs and chased only 91 runs. Luke Wood, Chris Green, and Coulter-Nile were also dismissed in the last of the first innings, and Melbourne chased 122/8 in 20 overs.

The second inning started with Matthew Gilkes and Hales at the crease, and Boult opened the attack. Boult credited the two back-to-back wickets to his account in the opening of the second inning as he dismissed Matthew Gilkes and Rossouw. During the powerplay, Sydney Thunder chased 34 runs with a loss of 3 wickets. 

Jason Sangha and Daniel Sams were also dismissed in the 9th and 10th overs. Sydney Thunder reached 58/5 in the 10 overs. Ross tried to complete the chase by hitting some boundaries but could not go beyond 28 as Zampa dismissed him in the 15th over. 

The duo of Sandhu and Chris Green took pace and turned the game. Chris was gone in the last over after scoring 17(20). But Sandhu finished it off in the end, taking the Thunder off to a winning start. Sydney Thunder won the game by 1 wicket.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here