Home News Powerplay In T20: Everything You Should Know About Powerplay

Powerplay In T20: Everything You Should Know About Powerplay

Powerplay In T20: Everything You Should Know About Powerplay

Many people criticized cricket because they feel it is a boring game and takes too much time. The T20 format was introduced to make this more thrilling and entertaining. Power Play also helps games to make them more entertaining and thrilling, and it happens in limited-over cricket. If we see the cricket world cup news, powerplay is an important part of the game, and every team wants to win this phase.

What Is Powerplay?

In every match, there is a mandatory powerplay. In T20 cricket, 6 overs of powerplay is mandatory and during this phase, field restrictions will apply. The fielding team can only have a maximum of two fielders outside the thirty-yard circle. After six overs, the fielding side can have a maximum of five fielders outside the thirty-yard circle. If any fielding team doesn’t follow the powerplay rule, it will be given a no-ball.

Rules of Powerplay 

Powerplay applies only in limited-over cricket. There is a slight difference between the ODI powerplay and the T20 powerplay.

T20 Powerplay

In T20, the first six over is known as a powerplay, and during this phase fielding side has restrictions, and they can put more than two fielders outside of the thirty yard-circle. If we leave the wicket-keeper and bowler, the fielding side has to put their seven fielders inside the thirty-yard circle. If you see the cricket world cup news, if the fielding team does not follow the powerplay rule, they will be punished as a no-ball, and the batting team will get the free hit. Fielding restriction will not occur after the six over, and the fielding captain can put a maximum of five fielders outside the thirty-yard circle. In the case of rain, if over will deduct powerplay overs will also be deducted, and the umpire will decide the powerplay overs. 

ODI powerplay

The second type of white ball cricket ODI: is slightly different from the T20. We also know the 50 overs game as an ODI cricket game. In the ODI, the fielding side is bound to put a maximum of 2 fielders outside the 30-yard circle, and powerplay will last till 10 overs. Feilding team can have a maximum of 4 players outside the thirty-yard circle between 11-40 0vers. In the third and last phase of the ODI, the fielding team can put a maximum of five fielders outside of the thirty-yard circle. If the fielding team does not follow the rule of the powerplay, they will be punished, and the batting team will get a free hit.

Rules of Powerplay Over the Years 

ICC introduced the first-ever powerplay in 2005 in the ODI. The first power play was mandatory of 10 overs, and two more power plays of five overs each that the fielding team could choose according to themselves. Before the power play rule, two fielders were mandatory at the catching position in the first 15 overs, but ICC feels restriction will be wonderful during the first 10 overs. They decided a maximum of two fielders be in the catching position.

In 2008, ICC updated the rule after they felt the fielding side had little advantage. They decided that the batting side would choose one non-mandatory power play. It won’t favor the fielding side.

In 2011, ICC made a new change in the field restriction, and teams can take powerplay between 11-40 overs. In case, teams fail to take the power play, umpires will start additional powerplay from the 31st over, and it will end in 40 overs.

In 2012, ICC made some changes and reduced the one additional powerplay. And during the non-power play over only four fielders will be there outside of the thirty-yard circle.

The last changes were made in 2015, and the powerplay will be divided into three parts: 0-10, 11-40, and 41-50. 

Highest Score In the Powerplay


In 2022, West Indies broke the Ireland record of having maximum runs in the powerplay and scored 98 runs against Sri Lanka. The previous record held by Ireland of 93 runs against the West Indies. Sri Lanka scored 131 runs for 9 wickets and gave the target of 132 runs. Niroshan Dickwella and Pathum Nissanka contributed 33 and 39 runs respectively.

In response, West Indies scored 98 runs in the first six overs and chased down the target of 132 runs in 13.1 overs.


Sri Lanka has the record for the highest score in the powerplay in ODI. They scored 133 runs in the first 10 overs against England in 2006 and it is still a record. England scored 322 runs and in response, Sri Lanka chased down in 37.3 overs. Both the openers scored centuries, Jayasuriya scored 152 runs in 99 balls and Tharanga scored 109 runs in 102 balls.


In IPL Kolkata Knight Riders has the maximum run in the powerplay. They scored 105 runs in 6 overs against Royal Challengers Bangalore in 2017. Chris Lynn and Sunil Narayan came to open and Sunil Narayan clinched the fastest half-century of IPL at that time.

Read our blog: The Longest Six Ever in Cricket.

See the cricket world cup news only on the CBTF!



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here