Home International Cricket News New Zealand vs Pakistan 2nd T20I Match Preview

New Zealand vs Pakistan 2nd T20I Match Preview

New Zealand vs Pakistan 2nd T20I Match Preview

In the second T20I of the tri-nation series ahead of the T20 World Cup 2022, Pakistan’s Babar Azam takes on Kane Williamson’s New Zealand. Pakistan got off to a fantastic start in the series by defeating Bangladesh in the first T20I on Friday (October 7). New Zealand will face a difficult battle against an in-form Pakistan, who may have lost the seven-match series against England at home, but they are a strong team despite having several vulnerabilities in their best XI. One of New Zealand’s major concerns is the condition of all-rounder Daryl Mitchell, who has a fractured hand and has been ruled out of the present series. There is a strong possibility that he may also be ruled out of the T20 World Cup.

New Zealand head coach Gary Stead was quoted as saying on Cricbuzz, “It’s a real shame for Daryl to suffer this injury on the eve of an exciting period of cricket for the side. Daryl’s become a really important player to our T20 unit and we’re certainly going to miss his all-round skills and versatility in the Tri-Series. With our first game of the World Cup in just over two weeks, we need to take some time to consider Daryl’s recovery timeline and his potential involvement in the tournament,” 

One of New Zealand’s major worries is the form of their skipper, Kane Williamson, who has not had a fantastic year with the bat. He, too, has suffered from an elbow problem. The Blackcaps hope their skipper recovers some form before the huge tournament begins this month in neighboring Australia.

Here’s all you need to know about the 2nd T20I match between New Zealand and Pakistan:

When: The 2nd T20I match between New Zealand (NZ) and Pakistan (PAK) will take place on October 8, Saturday, at 11:40 am (IST).

Where: The 2nd T20I match between New Zealand (NZ) and Pakistan (PAK) will be played at the Hagley Oval Stadium in Christchurch.

Predicted Playing 11:

PAK XI: Babar Azam (c), Mohammad Rizwan (wk), Mohammad Nawaz, Haider Ali, Shadab Khan, Asif Ali, Aamer Jamal, Mohammad Wasim Jr, Naseem Shah, Shan Masood, Iftikhar Ahmed

New Zealand XI: Martin Guptill, Finn Allen, Kane Williamson(c), Devon Conway(w), Mark Chapman, Glenn Phillips, James Neesham, Mitchell Santner, Lockie Ferguson, Tim Southee, Trent Boult, Adam Milne, Ish Sodhi, Michael Bracewell

For more such cricket updates and the latest cricket news, stay connected with CBTF Speed News.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here