Home News Introducing cricket guide to crazy fans

Introducing cricket guide to crazy fans

Introducing cricket guide to crazy fans

Cricket is a sport that dates back to the beginning of the 16th century and has since become widespread. The highest point of the international game is the World Cup Cricket. Other major events are the T20 World Cup, the Test Series and the One-Day Series.

Each format can be elaborated more extensively, but this cricket guide will guide you to the basics of cricket. Every country holds a series of highly competitive national competitions.

With that said, lets understand cricket with this Cricket guide

Cricket is about scoring more runs than your opponent. There are three variants of the game (Test, 1 Day and 20-20), and each gives a particular schedule in which the game has to be finished.

The goal is to remove the opposing team for as few runs as possible or limit it to a few runs in the allotted time. Once a team has lost all its wickets or the time allocated has elapsed, the teams swap roles.

Players Composition

Each team is divided into 11 players. These 11 players will play different roles: batsmen, bowlers, fielders and wicket keepers. Whereas each player will have a specialist role.
The ball will be bowled by a player from one side while the batsman attempts to hit the ball on the other side.
The color of the cricket ball will be either red (test match) or white (one-day game).


A run happens when a batsman hits the ball with his bat, and the two batsmen at the wickets successfully run to the other end. A batsman can run as many times as they wish before being declared out.
Four runs are given if the ball crosses the boundary rope after it has pitched at least once from leaving the bat. If the ball flies over the boundary rope without pitching, then six runs are given to the batting team.
Runs will also be added when the bowler bowls a no-ball, a bye, a wide delivery and a leg bye.

Cricket Rules and Regulations

1. Each team has eleven players.
2. The bowler must bowl six proper deliveries to complete an over.
3. A batsman can be given out by either being stumped, handling ball, bowled, timed out, leg before wicket (LBW), caught, hit wicket, obstruction (the batsmen purposely prevents the fielder from getting the ball) and hit the ball twice.
4. Test cricket is played over five days, where each playing team has 2 innings (or 2 chances to bat).
5. After that, the scores are added, and the team with the most runs after each innings is the winner.
6. One day cricket is played for 50 overs. Each playing team gets 50 overs to bat and bowl before changing and doing the previous discipline. The team with the highest score at the end of the game wins.
7. The fielding team must have one separate wicket-keeper who will be the only person allowed to wear gloves and pads on the match. At the opposite end, the wicket-keeper stands and catches the ball.


Now you would have understood the basics of cricket with this cricket guide. This will give you more confidence to understand more about cricket. Cricket knowledge is endless.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here