Home News India Announce Squad For 2022 T20 World Cup! | CBTF Speed News

India Announce Squad For 2022 T20 World Cup! | CBTF Speed News

India Announce Squad For 2022 T20 World Cup! | CBTF Speed News

India Announce Squad For 2022 T20 World Cup!

The Indian teams for the 2018 ICC Men’s T20 World Cup in Australia were unveiled on Monday by the All-India Senior Selection Committee. As anticipated, Rohit Sharma will serve as the team’s captain for the major T20 tournament, with KL Rahul serving as his opening partner. Superstar batsmen Suryakumar Yadav and Virat Kohli are also on the team. Harshal Patel and Jasprit Bumrah rejoined the team when their ailments had healed. Mohammad Shami will go to Australia in case he needs to fill in.

According to reports, the selection committee will meet in Mumbai to choose both the team for the home series against Australia and South Africa beginning on September 20 and the 15-member squad for the forthcoming T20 World Cup 2022 to be held in Australia. 

For more cricket news and cricket updates stay tuned!

The performance appraisal of India’s 2022 Asia Cup team will also be on the table. After losses to eventual champions Sri Lanka and Pakistan, India was eliminated from the Super 4 stage. India’s team came under fire for experimenting with their starting XI throughout the competition. Jasprit Bumrah’s fitness is in question, and India’s T20 World Cup squad is about to be revealed.

There is obviously some good news for India ahead of the squad selection with reports that pacer kingpin Jasprit Bumrah and T20I specialist Harshal Patel are both on the mend from their respective injuries. Patel was at the NCA recovering from a rib injury, while Bumrah missed the Asia Cup 2022 due to a back issue.

After undergoing surgery, Ravindra Jadeja, who had a knee injury during the Asia Cup 2022, is unlikely to be considered for the T20 World Cup team.

There are questions regarding India’s lower order, second and third option all-rounders, and spinners, despite the fact that most of the batters choose themselves for the squad, including Virat Kohli, who returned to form in the Asia Cup by scoring two fifties and a century.

According to cricket news, based on his performances in the Asia Cup, it appears that Avesh Khan would be dropped, leaving India with a difficult choice between the two swing bowlers Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Deepak Chahar. Despite Kumar’s outstanding performance of 5/4 on Thursday against Afghanistan, the UP bowler struggled in the final few overs, giving up 19 and 14 runs against Pakistan and Sri Lanka, respectively.

The fact that Arshdeep Singh held his bowl with the ball in the final over and more than merits a trip to Australia as one of the backup pacers is undeniable. Like Chetan Sharma and Jasprit Bumrah, his name is now permanently entrenched in the India-Pakistan rivalry for the wrong reasons. He is a left-armer, which gives the attack more variety.

This brings up the issue of the team’s wicketkeepers and finishers, and even though both Dinesh Karthik and Rishabh Pant are likely to make the cut, this position will really be up for grabs.

To be fair to Karthik, he did not have a steady run in the Asia Cup even though he ended up bowling more deliveries than he faced in the entire tournament. However, Pant was benched for Pakistan’s opening game and thereafter posted unimpressive scores of 14, 17, and 20*. Being a left-handed batsman with the ability to play at the top of the order will be to his advantage, but India has a very real outside chance of sending Sanju Samson to Australia. It will be intriguing to watch out for whether it comes at the expense of either Pant or Karthik or whether he travels as the backup keeper. 

Even though Sharma’s difficulty in selecting a balanced XI is exacerbated by Ravindra Jadeja’s absence, the selector’s task is made somewhat easier because Axar Patel is most likely to be chosen in his stead in the team. It will be intriguing to watch if Deepak Hooda is able to keep his position as the sixth bowling option and all-round batsman. The Asia Cup 2022 demonstrated that while Hardik Pandya will be the team’s starting all-rounder, he has yet to establish himself as one of the best bowling options available to Rohit Sharma. 

India Squad for T20 World Cup

India Squad For T20 World Cup: Rohit Sharma (C), KL Rahul (VC), Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Deepak Hooda, R Pant (WK), Dinesh Karthik (WK), Hardik Pandya, R. Ashwin, Y Chahal, Axar Patel, Jasprit Bumrah, B Kumar, Harshal Patel, Arshdeep Singh.Get the most recent cricket updates, news, schedules, and live scores here.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here