Home News IND vs SA T20I Series: India Defeated South Africa in the 1st T20I

IND vs SA T20I Series: India Defeated South Africa in the 1st T20I

IND vs SA T20I Series: India Defeated South Africa in the 1st T20I

An impending T20I series between South Africa and India is scheduled on September 28 (Wednesday). Greenfield International Stadium in Thiruvananthapuram will host the first T20I between India and South Africa.

During the South Africa tour of India 2022, a three-match T20I series and a three-match ODI series will take place. Rohit Sharma leads India in IND vs SA T20I series while Temba Bavuma is the captain of South Africa.

India will be playing without Bhuvneshwar and Hardik Pandya in this series. They will undergo conditioning-related training at the NCA in Bengaluru in the lead-up to next month’s World Cup.

The Greenfield International Stadium has hosted just two T20Is and one ODI so far in international cricket. The last match to be held here was a T20I against the West Indies. It was a one-sided affair but a rather surprising one, in the way West Indies beat India by eight wickets with nine balls to spare.

India won the toss and opted to Field Against South Africa in Thiruvananthapuram. Arshdeep Singh and Deepak Chahar may not have played in the series against Australia, with the former missing much of it owing to injury. Still, they have paid back Rohit Sharma’s faith in them by completely dismantling the South African top order in the first four overs.

In the opening over, Chahar removed South Africa’s skipper Temba Bavuma, and in the second over, after Rilee Rossouw was dismissed amazingly by Arshdeep Singh who struck thrice in his first over by dismissing Quinton de Kock and David Miller. In the third, Chahar then acquired the talented Tristan Stubbs. SA lost 5 wickets at a score of just 9. However, South Africa than did well to reach 106/8, with Keshav Maharaj leading the recovery with a 35-ball 41, considering how savage their initial collapse was.

India came into the field to play their inning. Rohit Sharma and Virat Kohli fell in the initial overs, and India only scored 17 runs in the powerplay, the lowest ever score after powerplay in a T20I match in the history of India. Rahul and Suryakumar Yadav have kept the hosts on target, chasing a lowly target of 107.

Suryakumar Yadav’s tremendous batting made it, and he achieved his 8th T20I half-century. Rahul hit a six to end the game with a win and credited a half-century in his account. India won the first match of the T20I series against South Africa by 8 wickets. For more cricket updates and the latest cricket news, follow CBTF Speed News.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here