Home India Team News ICC T20 World Cup 2022: Jaspreet Bumrah Ruled Out of T20 World Cup

ICC T20 World Cup 2022: Jaspreet Bumrah Ruled Out of T20 World Cup

ICC T20 World Cup 2022: Jaspreet Bumrah Ruled Out of T20 World Cup

India’s teams for the upcoming ICC Men’s T20 World Cup in Australia and the domestic T20 International series against Australia and South Africa were announced during the All-India Senior Selection Committee meeting on Monday. Initially, India’s 15-man squad for the T20 World Cup included Jasprit Bumrah and Harshal Patel, both of whom recovered their health.

However, according to the latest cricket news, India’s pace spearhead Jasprit Bumrah, has been ruled out of the forthcoming T20 World Cup 2022 due to stress fracture.

Previously, he wasn’t included in the Asia Cup 2022 as well due to a back injury. On September 25, 2022, in a match against Australia, he scored 50 off 4 overs which is considered his poor T20I figures.

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) medical team has taken the charge of monitoring the condition of Bumrah. This is his other consistent back injury, and the committee is not prepared to take any chances for his fitness during the World Cup tournament.

A BCCI official said, ‘He returned to the Indian team recently, but ahead of the T20s against South Africa, he complained of back pain and was not included for the first T20I. The medical team assessed him, and it was decided that Bumrah will be out of action for at least four to six weeks. In case of such injuries, you cannot put a timeline for recovery. At this point, it is highly unlikely that he will travel to Australia…’

He was injured during the practice session for India on Tuesday.

Four reserve players, including bowler Mohammad Shami, have been announced for the multi-nation event. Bumrah, who had a back issue, and Harshal, who had a side strain, completed a rigorous rehabilitation program at the NCA. The BCCI medical team determined they were healthy enough to play in the series.

October 16 is the start date, and November 13 is the end date of the tournament. As per cricket updates, the first match between India and Pakistan will occur on October 23. For such amazing cricket news or updates, stay tuned with us!

India squad for ICC T20 World Cup

Rohit Sharma (Captain), KL Rahul (vice-captain), Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Deepak Hooda, Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), Dinesh Karthik (wicket-keeper), Hardik Pandya, R Ashwin, Yuzvendra Chahal, Axar Patel, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Harshal Patel, Arshdeep Singh.

Standby players – Mohd Shami, Shreyas Iyer, Ravi Bishnoi, Deepak Chahar.

Note – The updated squad for India hasn’t been announced yet.

Participating Teams in ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2022

Afghanistan, Australia, Bangladesh, England, India, New Zealand, Pakistan, South Africa, Namibia, Scotland, Sri Lanka, West Indies, Ireland, UAE, Netherlands, and Zimbabwe will play in the tournament. The T20 World Cup Qualifier chooses the remaining six teams, and the ICC rankings decide the top 10 teams. In Round 1, four teams will be eliminated.

IANS reports that all-rounder Ravindra Jadeja, who suffered a right knee injury during the Asia Cup and recently underwent surgery, will be away from the team captained by Rohit Sharma. Axar Patel, a left-hander, will take over for Jadeja as a similar replacement. The other two specialized spinners are R Ashwin, Yuzvendra Chahal, and Axar Patel, in addition to Axar.

The same batting lineup played in the Asia Cup is used, featuring skipper Rohit Sharma, KL Rahul, Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Rishabh Pant, and Dinesh Karthik. Along with fellow pacer Deepak Chahar, batter Shreyas Iyer, and standby players Ravi Bishnoi and Mohammed Shami, a pacer, have been named.

If you are looking for online cricket news, visit CBTF Speed News immediately!


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here