Home ICC Ranking ICC Champions Trophy Winners List From 1998 to 2017

ICC Champions Trophy Winners List From 1998 to 2017

ICC Champions Trophy Winners List From 1998 to 2017

The Champions Trophy, popularly known as the “Mini World Cup,” was first held in 1998 by the ICC. It was first launched as the ICC Knockout Tournament, which would last for four years. The first two editions were held in Kenya and Bangladesh with the intention of raising money in non-Test playing countries. But as a result of its commercial success, the competition went on to be held in important cricketing nations like England and India.

Only the top 8 countries in the ICC ODI rankings will participate, as has been the case since the 2009 tournament. Six months before the commencement of the trophy, the rankings were cut off. After the 2017 edition, the competition was cancelled with the intention of keeping just one worldwide tournament for each of the three formats. However, the ICC declared in 2021 that the Champions Trophy would return between 2025 and 2029. We will list the champions of each previous Champions Trophy (CT) competition in this article.

1998 – South Africa

Nine different teams competed in Bangladesh for the first time in the Champions Trophy’s history. South Africa and the West Indies played in the championship game at the Bangabandhu National Stadium in Dhaka. West Indies scored 245 runs thanks to Philo Wallace’s century. The Proteas squad responded by winning by four wickets in 47 overs.

2000 – New Zealand

The final between India and New Zealand was contested in Nairobi during the second edition, which was held in Kenya and featured 11 teams. India scored 264/6 as a team, with skipper Sourav Ganguly scoring 117 runs. India was easily winning the chase after taking 5 wickets for 132 runs off the New Zealand team. Chris Cairns, who batted at number 5, however, struck a wonderful century to help his team win the match.

2002 – India and Sri Lanka

Twelve teams competed in the third edition, which was hosted by England. The final between Sri Lanka and India took place in Colombo. With the help of the fifty-plus scores from Mahela Jayawardene and Russell Arnold, Sri Lanka scored 222/7 in 50 overs. Rain, however, prevented the Indians from finishing their innings, and even on the reserve day, only 8.4 overs could be bowled. India and Sri Lanka were ultimately announced as joint winners.

2004 – West Indies

There were 12 teams competing in this event, which was hosted in England. The Oval in London hosted the championship game between England and the West Indies. When England was selected to bat first, only Marcus Trescothick’s century stood out as a standout performer. In 49.4 overs, they scored 217 runs for their total, with Wavell Hinds taking 3 wickets. West Indies eventually defeated their opponents by two wickets with seven balls remaining in the chase.

2006 – Australia

Only 8 teams competed in this edition, which was contested in South Africa. Only 200/9 could be scored by the Kiwi squad in 50 overs during the final match versus Australia. Shane Watson scored 105 runs off 129 balls in an amazing hundred-run chase. With a six-wicket triumph, the Australian team captured its second straight championship.

2013 – India

India competed against the hosts in the final of this tournament, which was hosted in England. The championship was shortened to a 20-over game because to the persistent rain. With the help of crucial performances from Virat Kohli and Ravindra Jadeja, India reached 129/7. India won the match by five runs after the home team continued to lose wickets at regular intervals during the pursuit.

2017 – Pakistan

With India and Pakistan facing off in the final, this edition was once again hosted in England. Pakistan was given the opportunity to bat first and amassed a big score of 338/4 in 50 overs. Fakhar Zaman produced an outstanding century for them, and Mohammad Hafeez added a quick-fire knock. In response, the Indian batting order collapsed and was dismissed for just 158 runs, which resulted in a 180-run loss.

ICC Champions Trophy winner list 

Year Host Nation(S) Winner Runner-Up
1998 Bangladesh South Africa West Indies
2000 Kenya New Zealand India
2002 Sri Lanka Sri Lanka and India None
2004 England West Indies England
2006 India Australia West Indies
2009 South Africa Australia New Zealand
2013 England and Wales India England
2017 England and Wales Pakistan India

For more information like this regarding cricket, follow CBTF Cricket News!


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here