Home India Team News How 16 Teams Qualified for the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2022?

How 16 Teams Qualified for the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2022?

How 16 Teams Qualified for the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2022?

In October and November of 2022, Australia will host the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup.

  • 86 teams vying for 15 berths in the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup in 2022.
  • 13 months were dedicated to the play of 225 Men’s T20 Internationals in qualifying.
  • Teams participating in their first ICC Men’s T20 World Cup qualifying pathway are Hungary, Romania, and Serbia.
  • Australia will host the 2022 ICC Men’s T20 World Cup in October and November.

The ICC Men’s T20 World Cup is scheduled to take place in Australia in October and November 2022, and the ICC has now published the qualification process.

A four-step qualification process that began in April 2021 determined the 15 seats in Australia. Due to COVID-19, 11 regional qualification tournaments from across five regions have been moved to 2021 and will now contribute to the 2022 Australia event.

In the 13-month qualification period leading up to the resumption of cricket in early 2021, 86 different teams had the chance to compete for one of the 15 World Cup slots, with the hosts, Australia, having already secured one. Finland will host an ICC event for the first time, and for the first time, Hungary, Romania, and Serbia competed for a spot in the Men’s T20 World Cup. In a cricket festival, Japan also hosted a Men’s T20 World Cup Qualifier for the first time, following U19 Men’s Cricket World Cup Qualifier two weeks earlier.

As per cricket news, 67 Associate Members participated at the regional level. Africa and Europe had sub-regional qualifiers that fed into a final qualifier for the region because of the depth of strength within those two continents. Asia’s A and B regional qualifications determined which teams advanced to the two eight-team global qualifiers, while Africa, the Americas, the EAP, and Europe each had one top-tier regional qualifier.

One team from Africa and EAP Qualifier took one of the 16 available berths in the Global Qualifiers. Two teams each from the qualifying rounds for the Americas and Europe will join them. Finally, one team from each event will fill the eight seats via regional qualification in Asia, which has Qualifiers A and B.

“We are excited to announce qualification for the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup in Australia in 2022,” according to ICC Head of Events Chris Tetley. The path leading to the eighth Men’s T20 World Cup, which will be hosted in Australia, features teams like Hungary, Romania, and Serbia competing in an ICC event of this format for the first time, demonstrating the rising competition among Associate Members. Additionally, 225 Men’s T20 Internationals were played, giving every Member a sizable amount of playing opportunities.

Team of Champions

The ICC Men’s T20 World Cup in India in 2021 will feature the 16 nations initially qualified for the 2020 Australia competition. These include Australia, Afghanistan, Bangladesh, England, India, Ireland, Namibia, Netherlands, New Zealand, Oman, Pakistan, Papua New Guinea, Scotland, South Africa, Sri Lanka, and West Indies.   

Twelve of these have already qualified for the World Cup league matches, while the remaining four teams will be finalized after the Global Qualifier matches.  

The four teams from the two international qualifiers, the hosts Australia, and the 11 automatic qualifiers from the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2021 will make up the 16-team Men’s T20 World Cup 2022. For more cricket updates or cricket news, stay tuned!


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here