Home T 20 World Cup News Find out how many times India won T20 World Cup | CBTF News

Find out how many times India won T20 World Cup | CBTF News

Find out how many times India won T20 World Cup | CBTF News

The lone T20 World Cup victory by the Indian cricket team was in 2007. They accomplished this amazing achievement during the inaugural World T20 T20 World Cup, which was hosted in South Africa.

The T20 World Cup is the greatest and most esteemed event in cricket’s shortest format in the entire world. Most nations still prioritize winning the World Cup, and every player aspires to be the world champion.

India has taken part in every single ICC T20 World Cup since it began in South Africa in 2007. Because of the development, expansion, and crazed popularity of the Indian Premier League, which started in 2008, they are one of the major T20 cricket powers in the globe.

Having stated that, let’s look at the number of times India has won the T20 World Cup and talk about the World Cup winners list for this type of match.

How many times has India won the T20 World Cup?

India has only ever claimed one T20 World Cup victory. India won the T20 World Cup and became the first team to win the competition by five runs against archrival Pakistan in the championship match. India dominated the entire competition, which was hosted in South Africa, and kept the spectators amused. Modern classics include games against Pakistan, where a bowl-out was necessary to decide the two teams in the group stages, as well as matches against England, where Yuvraj Singh scored the fastest 50 in T20 World Cup history by smacking six sixes off Stuart Broad, and Australia.

In the championship game, Pakistan maintained the lead up till the very last over. The MS Dhoni team maintained their composure, and Sreesanth successfully caught Misbah ul Haq for the game-winning catch to handily win the T20 World Cup!

2007 World Twenty20 

South Africa served as the inaugural host nation for the T20 World Cup. A thrilling bowl-out victory over Pakistan in the group stage set the tone for the Men in Blue’s performance for the rest of the competition. Due to their terrible performance in the Cricket World Cup, Team India did not bring the majority of their normal senior stars to this World Cup.

However, despite allowing New Zealand to win the Super 8, the young Indian team captained by MS Dhoni still had work to do. Fortunately, Yuvraj Singh’s six sixes off Stuart Broad helped India overcome England, and hosts South Africa, who had been unblemished up until that point, were soundly trounced to seal a position in the semifinals.

2009 World Twenty20 

It couldn’t have gone much worse for Team India in terms of title defenses. After cruising through the group stages with victories over Ireland and Bangladesh, they lost all three of their games in the Super 8s against West Indies, England, and South Africa to secure an unceremonious withdrawal from the World Cup. India’s pain from the 2007 T20 World Cup was made worse by having to watch their bitter rivals Pakistan win the competition.

2010 World Twenty20  

While India’s T20 World Cup campaign got off to a spectacular start with a century from Suresh Raina that destroyed Sri Lanka, it came to a disappointing finish as the team once again failed miserably in the Super 8 round. For the second year in a row, they went on to drop all three of their Super 8 games, falling to Australia, the West Indies, and Sri Lanka. In whatever style of cricket, England won its first World Cup that year.

2012 World Twenty20

Rarely does a club win four out of five games and yet fall short of the semifinals. But in 2012, it was India’s fate. In Group 2 of the Super 8, Pakistan and India were locked on a score of four points, however Pakistan advanced to the semifinals due to a greater net run rate.

In spite of victories against Pakistan and South Africa, India’s earlier nine-wicket loss to Australia prevented them from raising their net run rate enough to make it to the last four. In the end, West Indies would emerge victorious, winning the first of their two T20 World Cups.

2014 World Twenty20 

2014’s tournament, which was held in Bangladesh neighbor, seemed to have all the makings of another Indian victory. India easily advanced past the Super 10 round by defeating Pakistan, the West Indies, Bangladesh, and Australia in all four of their games. In the last over of the semifinal, India defeated South Africa thanks to young gun Virat Kohli, who was in top form.

In the championship match versus Sri Lanka, Kohli was once more prominent and scored another magnificent half-century. Yuvraj’s overly cautious 11 (21) innings kept the Men in Blue from posting a high enough total when he was run out on 77 due to the remainder of the batting lineup’s inability to gel.

Read cricket world cup news on the CBTF website. It is the cricket news website that provides the latest Cricket news.

Also Read: List of Virat Kohli’s Record in domestic cricket | CBTF


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here