Home News Dhananjaya Brought SL Back on the Winning Track With 6 Wickets Victory Over Afghans

Dhananjaya Brought SL Back on the Winning Track With 6 Wickets Victory Over Afghans

Dhananjaya Brought SL Back on the Winning Track With 6 Wickets Victory Over Afghans

Key Highlights

  • Afghanistan won the toss and opted to bat first.
  • In the Afghan’s innings, their highest score with the bat was 28 by Gurbaz.
  • W Hasaranga took 3 wickets of Afghani batters.
  • Dhananjaya de Silva thrilled the Afghan pacers by scoring 66 unbeaten.
  • Sri Lanka won the match by 6 wickets against Afghanistan in the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup.

At the Gabba, Brisbane, Afghanistan won the toss and chose to bat first against Sri Lanka to begin the SL vs AFG match.

The pitch was a little dry and the dark areas were expected to favor the spinners. Gurbaz and Usman Ghani opened the batting attack with Rajitha on the bowling attack.

Starting it well, Gurbaz smashed the ball outside off for a boundary and slammed a six and got a score of 16 after 3 overs. Ghani took the game in his favor and made the most of the deliveries from Madushan. Scoring 28 off 24, Gurbaz lost his wicket to Kumara.

After a successful 8 overs, the side managed to move their score to 52-1. Giving some hope for the Afghan fans, Usman Ghani scored 27 runs in 27 balls and lost his wicket to Hasaranga.

In the 12th over, Ibrahim Zadran crunched a beautiful four and a six, jumping the score up to 89-2 after 12 overs. With Najibullah Zadran and Gulbadin Naib on the pitch, the Afghan team crossed the century and got a score of 104-3 after 15 overs.

The cumulative efforts of the Afghan team create a run score of 144-8 in 20 overs.

For the run chase of 145, Nissanka and Kusal Mendis opened the batting attack on a throw from Fazalhaq Farooqi.

In just the 2nd ball, Nissanka hit the first boundary for Sri Lanka and got an early dismissal from Mujeeb. SL had a score of 12-1 after 3 overs. Being in form, Mendis threatened Fareed Ahmad, hitting back to back boundaries in the 5th over but lost his wicket to Charith Asalanka after fueling a score of 25 in 27 balls.

After 8 overs, Sri Lankan batters managed to score 52-2. Dhanajaya smashed four and six, moving the score up to 77-2 after 11 overs.

Dhananjaya was playing in a great form and Bhanuka alongside, they got up to a score of 121-3 after 16 overs. Rajapaksa lost his wicket to Mujeeb at a crucial time in the death overs, getting a score of 18 off 14.

In the AFG vs SL match, Sri Lanka chased down the target and won the match by 6 wickets.

For the latest cricket updates , follow CBTF Speed News!


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here