Home Women's T20 World Cup 2023 BCCI Announce the Squad for the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup 2023

BCCI Announce the Squad for the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup 2023

BCCI Announce the Squad for the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup 2023

The ICC Women’s T20 world cup will start on 10 February 2023 in South Africa. BCCI announced the squad for the 2023 ICC women’s T20 world cup. Harmanpreet Kaur will lead the 15-member squad in the world cup, her third consecutive women’s T20 world cup as a captain. Opener Smriti Mandhana is the vice-captain for the world cup.

The fast bowler Sikha Pandey made a comeback after one year for the women’s world cup and is part of the tri-series ahead of the world. It will allow her to gain confidence and play to her full potential in the world cup.

Allrounder Pooja Vastrakar is also included in the squad who was injured against Australia. Her selection is subject to fitness, which means she needs to be fully fit before the world cup. Left-arm pacer Anjali Sarvani has also found a place in the squad as he debuted in the T20 cricket one month before against Australia.

Sneh Rana, Sabbhineni Meghana, and Meghna Singh are the reserve players. Meghna Singh played her last match against Australia, where she went wicketless and was expensive too. BCCI announced the squad according to their strength as they have chosen the spin-dominated squad. Deepti Sharma, Radha Yadav, Devika Vaidya, and Rajeshwari Gayakwad will take care of the spin department. Renuka Thakur, Anjali Sarvani, Pooja Vastrakar, and Shikha Pandey will take care of the fast bowler department. Richa Ghosh is the first-choice wicket-keeper for the women’s world cup. Smriti Mandhan and Shafali Verma will open for India, and India will look for a solid start from them. Jemimah Rodrigues, Harmanpreet Kaur, and Harleen Deol will take care of the middle order.

ICC women’s T20 world cup 2023 is scheduled to start in February, and teams have been divided into Group A and Group B. India is in group B alongside England, Ireland, Pakistan, and West Indies. Australia, New Zealand, South Africa, Bangladesh, and Sri Lanka are in Group A.

Women’s cricket has improved a lot under the captaincy of Harmanpreet Kaur. In 2020, India was the finalist of the ICC women’s T20 world cup but lost the final against the Australian. Team India will want to replicate the previous edition’s performance and look forward to breaking the final hurdle.

Team India will play a tri-series in South Africa ahead of the world cup, and West Indies & South Africa will participate alongside India. It will help them to prepare for the world cup. 

The 15-member squad for the world cup: Harmanpreet Kaur (Captain), Smriti Mandhana, Shafali Verma, Yastika Bhatia, Richa Ghosh, Jemimah Rodrigues, Harleen Deol, Deepti Sharma, Devika Vaidya, Radha Yadav, Renuka Thakur, Anjali Sarvani, Pooja Vastrakar, Rajeshwari Gayakwad, Shikha Pandey.

Reserves: Sabbhineni Meghana, Sneh Rana, Meghna Singh.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here