Home Afghanistan Tour of Sri Lanka, 2022 Afghanistan Tour of Sri Lanka, 2022 – Sri Lanka vs Afghanistan, 1st ODI Preview

Afghanistan Tour of Sri Lanka, 2022 – Sri Lanka vs Afghanistan, 1st ODI Preview

Afghanistan Tour of Sri Lanka, 2022 – Sri Lanka vs Afghanistan, 1st ODI Preview

Sri Lanka and Afghanistan will come against each other. The Afghanistan tour of Sri Lanka will begin today with three One Day Internationals (ODIs) matches. AFG vs SL matches will be played in Pallekele International Cricket Stadium, Pallekele. 

Before this, both teams have played 4 four ODIs and Sri Lanka has dominated with three wins to their name. Both squads squared off against each other in the format in the 2019 edition of the World Cup. There, Lankans triumphed over Afghans with 34 runs. 

Recently, the two teams were engaged in the ICC T20 World Cup and both the sides made group-stage exits. While Afghanistan got defeated in all the games, Sri Lanka got a win in two and defeat in three matches. 

After the World Cup 2022, Mohammad Nabi stepped down as Afghan skipper. Now, Hasmatullah Shahidi  will captain the side that has the favors of Nabi Rahmanullah Gurbaz, Rashid Khan, Mujeeb Ur Rahman, and Fazalhaq Farooqi. 

Sri Lanka emerged victorious in the Asia Cup 2022. Initially, they lost to Afghanistan and then defeated them in the Super 4 round. To lead the team, Dasun Shanaka will be positioned in the absence of Chamika Karunaratne. Gunarthikala is prohibited to play the match by the board due to charges of sexual assault on him. 

Date & Time – November 25, 2022 at 02:30 PM Local

Venue – Pallekele International Cricket Stadium


Sri Lanka

Pathum Nissanka, Kusal Mendis(w), Dhananjaya de Silva, Dinesh Chandimal, Dasun Shanaka(c), Charith Asalanka, Wanindu Hasaranga, Dhananjaya Lakshan, Lahiru Kumara, Maheesh Theekshana, Kasun Rajitha, Ashen Bandara, Asitha Fernando, Pramod Madushan, and Dunith Wellalage. 


Rahmanullah Gurbaz(w), Ibrahim Zadran, Hashmatullah Shahidi(c), Riaz Hassan, Najibullah Zadran, Gulbadin Naib, Mohammad Nabi, Rashid Khan, Fazalhaq Farooqi, Fareed Ahmad Malik, Mujeeb Ur Rahman, Rahmat Shah, Yamin Ahmadzai, Shahidullah Kamal, Zia-ur-Rehman, Ikram Alikhil, Azmatullah Omarzai, and Noor Ahmad. 

To get the live scores and the latest cricket updates of the upcoming matches, stay tuned with CBTF Speed News!


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here